Last updated: 3 November 2026. Prices and wording checked that day on Rockstar, PlayStation and Xbox pages, with preload dates updated from Rockstar’s newswire post of the same day.
As of 3 November 2026, buy the Standard Edition unless you specifically want the 16 extras Rockstar bundles into the $99.99 Ultimate Edition.
That $20 gap buys in-game vehicles, weapons, outfits and five locations inside the same game, and the physical copy is a download code in a box with no disc.
Rockstar’s own pages settle most of the confusion, and the pre-order bonus cutoff is the one date you cannot miss.
Which GTA 6 edition should you buy?
Standard if you play on Xbox. The upgrade is listed at $20.00 on the Xbox store, so waiting costs you no extra money.
Ultimate digital if you play on PlayStation and already know you want the extras. The $99.99 price is published, while the PlayStation Store showed no price for the upgrade on 3 November.
Code-in-box Standard only if you want a retail box or in-store pickup on 12 November. Digital buyers start preloading on 10 November, two days sooner. The game inside is the same as the digital Standard Edition.
Story only: Standard on either console. Take-Two calls the game “a single-player experience,” and what Ultimate adds is vehicles, weapons, outfits, five locations and two activities.
The PlayStation advice has a catch. Waiting means accepting an upgrade price nobody has published, while the Xbox store already shows $20.00.
Our view: most players should take Standard. Rockstar says the extras are threaded through the story, so waiting on the upgrade should cost you little early on.
What does the Ultimate Edition’s extra $20 buy?
Rockstar describes the Ultimate Edition Upgrade as “an exclusive collection of premium vehicles, weapons, apparel, and action threaded across all aspects of Jason and Lucia’s story.” The Rockstar Store and Rockstar Support both list the same 16 items.
On wheels and water you get the ’95 Grotti Cheetah, a Ganado Retro Build for Jason’s pickup, the Shitzu Squalo watercraft and the ’67 Vapid Dominator Buggy with a garage. Jason’s Safehouse Vehicles add a Dinka Enduro motorcycle and a Crest Kayak.
For weapons there are the Hawk & Little Morgan Revolvers and engraved variants of Jason’s Girardi ES9 and Lucia’s Klose K17 pistols.
Styling comes as Vice City Style and Goodtime Gear, a collection built on a TV character called Macca the Gator.
Two items are activities: a raid on the PTT Youngin$ Compound, and the Classic Car Collection, a commission to restore abandoned project cars for a collector named Wyman.
Five destinations are, in Rockstar’s words, “only open for business with the Ultimate Edition”: Rideout Customs, Sara’s Unisex Salon, Stock 305, Electric Fang Tattoo and One-Eyed Willie’s.
Rockstar lists no extra story content, no early access and no second month of GTA+. Rockstar moved preload to 10 November in its newswire post of 3 November, and both editions keep the same 19 November release.
Rockstar says new items are “uncovered behind each chapter,” and describes the Cheetah as available “to punctuate later-stage action.” Our read: the extras arrive as you progress, so do not count on having them all on day one.
Does GTA 6 come on a disc? What the physical box holds
No. The Rockstar Store says it plainly: “Physical versions will only contain a download code inside the box to support pre-load on November 12. A disc will not be included in the box.” That line describes the box. Rockstar’s newswire post of 3 November moved digital preload to 10 November, and boxes are still expected from retailers from 12 November.
Per Rockstar Support, a physical pre-order holds one code for the game and the Vintage Vice City Pack, and that is the full list.
A physical Ultimate Edition is not available. Standard buyers add the Ultimate Edition Upgrade from the PlayStation or Microsoft store after they redeem the code.

You still download the game, so you need internet and a platform account. None of the Rockstar, PlayStation or Xbox pages I read gives a download size.
The free GTA+ month is not in the box either. Take-Two’s release says “a free month of GTA+ for digital pre-orders,” and Rockstar’s physical contents list stops at the code and the pack.
Delivery is the catch. The Rockstar Store says shipping starts 12 November, that delivery time depends on the shipping option you pick, and that it ships to only 20 countries.

The page does not promise a mailed box lands on 12 November. Digital buyers now preload from 10 November, two days before boxes ship, so a mailed box starts its preload last, and in-store pickup from 12 November is the fastest box route (our read). I did not check retailer stock or retailer prices.
GTA 6 for PS5, code-in-box edition
- For a retail box and a 12 November pickup
- The box holds a code, not a disc
GTA 6 for Xbox Series X|S, code-in-box edition
- Rockstar Support says Xbox codes are not region-locked
- The box holds a code, not a disc
Is there a map in the GTA 6 box? Tracing the GameStop rumor
Rumor In mid-October an unverified r/GTA6 post claimed that handwritten GameStop signs promised a “Physical Collector’s Map” with the pre-order. In a follow-up, the same poster said the signs had been taken down.
On 2 November another r/GTA6 poster claimed, unverified, that a GameStop employee told them the physical edition “absolutely comes with a map” and would not be released on the twelfth.
A reply in that thread put it bluntly: “We have no idea if there is a map in the box.”
Rockstar’s side is documented. Its Support article lists the contents of the physical version as a code for the game and the Vintage Vice City Pack, and says the box is expected to be available for shipping and pickup from retailers starting 12 November.
That list is not proof that nothing paper sits in the box, but it makes any map a retailer’s claim. Do not pay a premium for one.
Digital, code-in-box or upgrade later: what each path costs
The Standard Edition is $79.99 and the Ultimate Edition is $99.99 on every storefront I opened. The upgrade for Standard owners is where the stores differ.

The Xbox store lists the Ultimate Edition Upgrade at $20.00, and $79.99 plus $20.00 equals the $99.99 Ultimate price, so on Xbox you pay the same either way (our math).
The PlayStation Store page for the upgrade said “Not available for purchase” on 3 November and showed no price.
Rockstar says Standard owners can buy the upgrade “at any time” after redeeming the code. Until the PlayStation listing opens, that is a promise rather than a price.
| What you get | Standard digital | Standard code-in-box | Ultimate digital | Ultimate via upgrade |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $79.99 | $79.99 on the Rockstar Store. Retailers not checked | $99.99 | $79.99 plus $20.00 on Xbox. PlayStation price not shown |
| Vintage Vice City Pack (order before 20 Nov) | Yes | Yes, inside the code | Yes | Yes, from the base game order |
| One month of GTA+ | Yes | Not listed by Rockstar | Yes | Only with a digital base order. The upgrade itself is not eligible, per the PlayStation Store |
| Disc | No | No, code only | No | No |
| Ultimate extras | No | No | Yes | Yes, after you buy the upgrade |
| Upgrade later | Yes, as a digital add-on | Yes, after the code is redeemed | Already included | This is the upgrade |
| Region lock | Not stated for digital orders | PlayStation codes tied to account region. Xbox none | Not stated for digital orders | Follows the base game, not stated separately |
| When you can play | Preload 10 Nov (PS5 local midnight; Xbox 00:00 GMT) | Preload once you redeem the code, from 12 Nov | Preload 10 Nov (PS5 local midnight; Xbox 00:00 GMT) | Same as the base game. Extras come after you buy the upgrade |
| Status | Confirmed | Confirmed | Confirmed | Confirmed on Xbox |
The GTA+ month is one per account. The PlayStation Store says the offer is limited to one redemption “regardless of additional purchases,” so buying Standard first and the upgrade later does not cost you the month, and it does not earn you a second one.
The month also renews. After the free month, PlayStation says the membership continues “at the regular monthly price until canceled,” so set a reminder if you do not want it.
Does your console change the edition choice?
Rockstar lists the same two editions on PS5 and Xbox Series X|S. The PlayStation Store tags the Standard Edition and the upgrade as “PS5 Pro Enhanced” with no detail beyond the label.
Nobody needs a disc drive for this game, because the box holds a code. Our PS5 Pro vs PS5 breakdown covers what the Pro does offer, including its optional drive.

On PlayStation, the store sells Standard at $79.99 and Ultimate at $99.99, and both listed a 7-day preload and the GTA+ month on 3 November, a label that predates the move of preload to 10 November. The upgrade page said “Not available for purchase” on 3 November, so the only PlayStation route to the extras is the $99.99 edition.
On Xbox, the US store sells the Ultimate Edition as a bundle of the game, the upgrade and the Vintage Vice City Pack, and lists the upgrade alone at $20.00. It is the only console where I found a price for the later upgrade.
Both stores treat the upgrade as an add-on, not a game. The Xbox page says “This content requires a game (sold separately),” the PlayStation page says the game “is required to access this content,” and PlayStation says it is not eligible for the GTA+ month.
None of the pages I read mentions cross-buy or a shared purchase between the two platforms. Each listing names one platform, so treat a purchase as tied to one console family until a store says otherwise.
One Xbox limit matters for families. The store says the GTA+ month is “not available to child accounts with restrictions on age-restricted content,” and the game is rated Mature 17+.
Rockstar and Take-Two list PS5 and Xbox Series X|S only, and the PlayStation Store says the game “will not be available for PlayStation 4 consoles.”
Switch 2 is not on Rockstar’s platform list either. Our Switch 2 vs Switch OLED comparison covers what that console is worth buying for.
On Xbox the game is a straight $79.99 purchase, and the Xbox page I read lists no Game Pass inclusion. If a subscription is part of your decision, run the numbers in our Game Pass Ultimate guide first.
GTA 6 pre-order bonus deadline: what “before November 20” means
Rockstar and Take-Two say orders and purchases “before November 20, 2026” include the Vintage Vice City Pack. The pack holds a ’55 Vapid Stanier Sedan and Garage, outfits and hairstyles, and an exclusive weapon pattern.
The storefronts word the cutoff differently. The PlayStation Store says “by November 19, 2026,” and the Xbox store says “prior to 19 November 2026 23:59:59.” Neither page names a time zone.
Launch day itself is therefore a gamble. Buy by 18 November and the question disappears.
Whether the pack comes back after the cutoff is unknown. None of the pages I read say it will be sold or granted later, so treat 20 November as a real deadline.
The GTA+ month has its own window. PlayStation buyers must claim it by 31 March 2027, and Xbox buyers within 180 days of the purchase, both per the store pages. It works only on the account that placed the order.
Is GTA 6 region-locked? PlayStation codes and the Japan expiry
On PlayStation, yes. Rockstar Support says region restrictions follow the region of your platform account, and a code must match it.
For US buyers that means a box shipped to the United States or Canada works only on a PlayStation account registered in one of those two countries, per the Rockstar Store FAQ. UK boxes work only on UK accounts.
A UK box will not work on a US PlayStation account.
Importing is where this bites. A box shipped to the United States or Canada will not work on a German or British PlayStation account, and the store warns that local authorities outside the U.S. and UK may add duties and taxes.
Gifting follows the same rule. Support recommends buying from “a retailer that is in the country of your platform account” to avoid activation problems, so ask where the recipient’s account is registered before you order.
Travel is the gap. The rule is written around the registered region of the account, not where you are sitting, and no page I read says what happens if you move or change your account’s country.
The two Rockstar pages also list different countries. Support’s European group names 34, including Greece and Romania, while the Store FAQ lists 17. If your country is only on Support’s list, ask Rockstar Support before importing.
The digital GTA+ month has its own map. PlayStation excludes Bahrain, China, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Qatar and Russia from the offer.
Xbox is different: Rockstar Support says Xbox codes are not region-locked. That one line is all Support says, so I make no claim about Xbox digital purchases, regional prices or the GTA+ month there.
Back on PlayStation, Japan has its own rule: codes sold there expire 170 days after the 19 November issue date, which our count puts at 8 May 2027.
Still weighing whether the game is worth $80 or $100? Trailer 2 is Rockstar’s own look at what you are paying for.
How to pre-order GTA 6 without losing the bonus
- Check your account region.Open your PlayStation or Microsoft account settings and note the country. PlayStation codes only work on a matching account.
- Pick your path.Use the table above: Standard digital, Standard code-in-box, or Ultimate digital. Xbox players can wait on the upgrade, PlayStation players should weigh the missing price.
- Buy by 18 November.Rockstar says before 20 November, but both stores word the cutoff as 19 November and name no time zone.
- Redeem a physical code on the right account.Rockstar says codes can be used as soon as you receive them. Do it the day the box arrives so you can preload.
- Claim the GTA+ month if you bought digital.PlayStation needs the claim by 31 March 2027, Xbox within 180 days. Cancel before the next payment date if you do not want to keep paying.
- Preload on 10 November.Digital preload opens on 10 November, at local midnight on PS5 and 00:00 GMT on Xbox. A boxed code preloads once you redeem it, and boxes are available from 12 November.
- Upgrade later if you want the extras.Buy the Ultimate Edition Upgrade from the PlayStation or Microsoft store once your Standard code is redeemed.
GTA 6 edition FAQ
Does GTA 6 come on a disc?
No. Rockstar says the physical version contains only a download code inside the box and that a disc will not be included. You still need an internet connection and a platform account to download the game. You can redeem the code as soon as you receive it, with boxes expected from retailers from 12 November, while digital preload opens on 10 November.
Can I upgrade Standard to Ultimate later?
Yes. Rockstar says Standard owners can buy the Ultimate Edition Upgrade at any time as a digital add-on from the PlayStation or Microsoft store once the code is redeemed. The Xbox store lists the upgrade at $20.00, while the PlayStation Store showed no price on 3 November and marked it not available for purchase.
Do I get the pre-order bonus if I buy on launch day?
By Rockstar’s wording, yes: purchases before 20 November include the Vintage Vice City Pack, and launch day is 19 November. The PlayStation Store says by 19 November and the Xbox store says prior to 19 November 23:59:59, with no time zone named. Buy by 18 November to be safe.
Is the free GTA+ month included with the physical copy?
No, not according to Rockstar. Take-Two says the free month of GTA+ is for digital pre-orders, and Rockstar Support lists a physical pre-order as one code for the game and the Vintage Vice City Pack only. PlayStation buyers must claim the month by 31 March 2027, and it renews at the regular price unless cancelled.
Is the physical code region-locked?
On PlayStation, yes. Codes work only on accounts registered in the matching region, so a US or Canada box works only on PlayStation accounts in those countries. Rockstar Support says Xbox codes are not region-locked, and Japanese codes expire 170 days after the 19 November issue date.
Is there a physical Ultimate Edition?
No. Rockstar Support says a physical version of the Ultimate Edition is not available. Physical Standard Edition owners can buy the Ultimate Edition Upgrade from the PlayStation or Microsoft store after they have used their code, which makes Ultimate a digital-only add-on for box buyers.
Sources checked
Every price, date and edition detail above was read on these pages on 3 November 2026. Anything not listed there is labelled as a rumor or as our read.
- Rockstar Store, Grand Theft Auto VI
- Rockstar Games, GTA VI editions
- Rockstar Support, Platforms, Editions, and Versions
- Rockstar Newswire, Grand Theft Auto VI Pre-Load Begins on November 10
- Take-Two, Rockstar Games Announces Pre-Orders for Grand Theft Auto VI
- PlayStation, Grand Theft Auto VI
- Xbox, Grand Theft Auto VI
- Xbox, Ultimate Edition Upgrade
- Xbox, Grand Theft Auto VI Ultimate Edition
- PlayStation Store, Ultimate Edition Upgrade
- PlayStation Store, Grand Theft Auto VI Standard Edition
- PlayStation Support, GTA VI GTA+ offer terms
- Rockstar Support, Pre-Order and Purchase FAQ